The Guardian steigert dank Tests die Zahl der Anmeldungen auf seiner Onlinedating-Website

Mehr Abonnements dank Optimierung von Landing Pages, Navigation und Homepage
  • Branche
    Medien
  • Standort
    London, Vereinigtes Königreich

Mit mehr als 6 Millionen Lesern pro Woche ist The Guardian die drittbeliebteste Zeitung der Welt. Die Stärke der Zeitung liegt in ihrer Konzentration auf digitale Inhalte und ihre datengestützte Kultur. Seit Anfang 2012 testet The Guardian mit Optimizely, um seine Leserschaft online zu erweitern.

The Guardian nutzt das A/B-Testing für viele Websites und Inhalte. Produktmanager wie Kerstin Exner werden ermutigt, immer dann A/B-Tests durchzuführen, wenn der jeweilige Test das Geschäft voranbringt.

Ein Inhalt, den The Guardian häufig optimiert, ist „Soulmates“, die Dating-Website der Zeitung. Soulmates ging 2004 online und finanziert sich über kostenpflichtige Monatsabonnements, in deren Rahmen Mitglieder Kontakt zueinander aufnehmen können.

Herausforderung

Als Dating-Website zielt Soulmates primär darauf ab, Besucher zu zahlenden Abonnenten zu machen. Ein Großteil des Traffics wird direkt über Anzeigen auf den Nachrichtenseiten von The Guardian erzielt. Kerstin fand jedoch heraus, dass diese Anzeigen zwar insgesamt viele Klicks erzielen, die meisten Benutzer jedoch keine Abonnenten werden

Kerstin fragte sich, welche Änderungen auf der Website mehr Besucher dazu bewegen könnten, die Dating-Services von Soulmates zu abonnieren. Sie wollte durch eine Kombination aus qualitativen Daten aus Benutzerumfragen und quantitativen Daten aus A/B-Testings Erkenntnisse gewinnen.

Hypothese

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem UX-Team führt Kerstin häufig Benutzerumfragen durch, um ihre Hypothesen im A/B-Testing zu stützen. Anhand der Erkenntnisse aus den Umfragen stellte Kerstin die Hypothese auf, dass mehr Abonnements erzielt werden könnten, wenn vorab mehr Informationen einsehbar wären – z. B. das Anzeigen von mehr Profilen und Informationen zu vorhandenen Benutzern.Kerstin bezeichnete diesen Ansatz als „personenorientierte“ Strategie. Zum Testen führte sie mehrere Optimizely-Experimente durch.

Test 1 – Optimieren der Landing Page

Kerstin entschied sich, mit einem der wichtigsten Elemente von Soulmates zu beginnen – den Landing Pages, auf die Besucher durch Klicken auf Anzeigen auf der Website von The Guardian geleitet werden. In den Anzeigen werden Bilder verschiedener Soulmates-Benutzer angezeigt. Wenn ein Benutzer auf ein Foto klickt, wird er direkt auf eine Landing Page mit dem Profil des Benutzers und dem Call-to-Action (CTA) „Heute noch kostenlos anmelden“ weitergeleitet.

Kerstin fragte sich, ob die aktuelle Landing Page bei neuen Besuchern nicht für Verwirrung sorgt. Mit Optimizely testete sie ihre „personenorientierte“ Strategie auf diesen Landing Pages, die Benutzern mehr Optionen und eine größere Fülle an Informationen ermöglichte. Auf den alternativen Landing Pages wurde nach wie vor das Profil aus der Anzeige angezeigt, jedoch um weitere ähnliche Profile desselben Alters und Geschlechts ergänzt. Auf den alternativen Seiten wurde zudem eine Seitenleiste mit Suchfunktionen und Kundenstimmen angezeigt.

Auf der ursprünglichen Landing Page wurde das Profil des Benutzers mit einem großen gelben CTA-Feld auf der Mitte der Seite angezeigt. Auf der alternativen Seite erhielten Besucher durch die Anzeige des Benutzerprofils, ähnliche Profile, Suchfunktionen und Benutzerstimmen mehr Möglichkeiten.

Durch die alternative Landing Page mit Suchfunktionen, Benutzerstimmen und ähnlichen Profilen konnte die Konversion um mehr als 46 % gesteigert werden. Als Kerstin klar wurde, dass sie einen Gewinner mit statistischer Signifikanz gefunden hatte, nutzte sie die Traffic-Zuweisungsfunktion von Optimizely, um den gesamten Website-Traffic auf die Gewinnerseite zu lenken, während die Programmierer die Änderungen im Code der Website vornahmen.

Test 2 – Testen der Navigation

Nach dem erfolgreichen ersten Test der „personenorientierten“ Strategie bei Soulmates entschied sich Kerstin, einen zweiten Test an der Navigationsleiste der Website durchzuführen.

Auf der ursprünglichen Navigationsleiste wurden standardmäßig sechs Registerkarten angezeigt. Da sich die „Top Matches“ der Webseitenbesucher nicht häufig ändern, stellte Kerstin die Hypothese auf, dass die Webseite bei Besuchern einen langweiligen, trostlosen Eindruck hinterlässt.Sie überlegte, ob durch die Änderung der „Top Matches“ in „Neue Mitglieder“ mehr Klicks auf die einzelnen Profile generiert werden könnten.

Die Variante, bei der „Top Matches“ durch „Neue Mitglieder“ ersetzt wurden, steigerte die Konversion um 137 %.

Nachdem der Test einige Tage lief, <em>verzeichnete Soulmates auf der alternativen Seite mit der Anzeige „Neue Mitglieder“ bereits 137 % mehr Klicks.

Test 3 – Optimieren der Homepage

Weitere Benutzerumfragen zu Kerstins „personenorientierter“ Hypothese ergaben, dass sich viele Besucher der Website weitere Informationen auf der Homepage von Soulmates wünschten. Auf dieser wurden bisher Fotos und Kurzbeschreibungen von Single-Männern und Frauen angezeigt.

Kerstin tauschte das ursprüngliche Design der Homepage mit Kurzbeschreibungen gegen das neue Design mit Alter und Ort der vorgestellten Benutzer.

Auf der ursprünglichen Homepage wurden Fotos und Kurzbeschreibungen für mehrere Männer und Frauen auf der Website angezeigt. Auf der alternativen Homepage wurden die Kurzbeschreibungen durch Alter und Ort der vorgestellten Benutzer ersetzt.

Der Test der Homepage offenbarte einige überraschende Erkenntnisse. Nachdem der Test einige Tage lief, fand sie heraus, dass bei der neuen Variante noch weniger Abonnements auf der Website abgeschlossen wurden und das primäre Konversionsziel somit verfehlt wurde. Zudem war der Unterschied bei den Profilaufrufen zwischen der ursprünglichen und der alternativen Website so gering, dass niemals eine statistische Signifikanz erreicht werden könnte.

Auch wenn in diesem Test die alternative Version nicht als Gewinner hervorging, fand Kerstin die Erkenntnisse jedoch ebenso nützlich wie die aus den ersten beiden ExperimenteDie Ergebnisse halfen Kerstin, zukünftige Tests zum Steigern der Konversion vorzubereiten.

Erkenntnisse

Vor dem Testen Hypothese und Ziele festlegen

Setting a hypothesis before building each test makes executing and interpreting experiment results much easier. According to Kerstin, agreeing on clear goals upfront helps remove the debate aspect when her team looks at test results and also influences ideas for future experiments.

Man lernt mit jedem A/B-Test

“Of the 14 tests we have run so far on Soulmates, seven have been successful, three have been negative, and four have been inconclusive, in that the differences did not generate big enough changes to reach statistical significance. To know what doesn’t work has been just as informative as to know what does work. A negative test is just a challenge to improve on what has failed and test it again,” says Kerstin.

The Guardian Tests to Boost Sign-ups to its Online Dating Site

Optimizing landing pages, navigation, and the homepage grew subscriptions
  • Industry
    Media
  • Location
    London, UK

With more than 6 million weekly readers, The Guardian is the third most popular newspaper globally. The paper’s strength lies in its strong “digital-first” approach and data-driven culture. They have been testing with Optimizely since early 2012 to grow online readership.

The Guardian uses A/B testing across many of its webpages and properties. Product managers like Kerstin Exner are encouraged to run A/B tests whenever possible, as long as a strong business case can be made for each experiment.

One property The Guardian optimizes frequently is its dating site, Soulmates. Launched in 2004, Soulmates monetizes via paid monthly subscriptions that allow members to interact with other members.

Challenge

As a dating site, Soulmates’ primary goal is to convert visitors into paid subscribers. They drive a majority of their traffic directly from ads placed on The Guardian’s news pages. But while Kerstin found these ads performed well in terms of overall click-throughs, she noticed that the majority of these visitors were not converting into subscribers.

Kerstin wanted to learn what site changes would drive more visitors to subscribe to Soulmates’ dating services. She aimed to gather learnings through a combination of qualitative data from user research and quantitative data from A/B testing.

Hypothesis

Working closely with the UX team, Kerstin frequently employs user research to shape her A/B testing hypotheses. Based on insights gleaned from research, Kerstin hypothesized that showing more information upfront, like a wider variety of profiles and more facts about existing users, would increase subscriptions. Kerstin coined this approach, a “people first” strategy. Using Optimizely, she built several experiments to test it out.

Test 1 - Landing Page Optimization

Kerstin opted to start with one of Soulmates’ main entry points – landing pages visitors entered upon clicking through an ad on The Guardian’s website. The ad feature photos of various Soulmates users; when a visitor clicks on a photo, they are directed to a landing page displaying the user’s profile and a “Join today for free” call-to-action (CTA).

Kerstin wondered if the current landing page was confusing first time visitors. Using Optimizely, she tested the “people first” strategy on these landing pages, giving users more options and a wider variety of information. The variation landing pages still showed the profile from the ad, but also displayed a few similar profiles of the same age range and gender. The variation pages also showed a sidebar with search functionality and customer testimonials.

The original landing page displayed the user’s profile with a large yellow call-to-action box in the center of the page. The variation gave site visitors more options by showing the user’s profile, similar profiles, search functionality, and user testimonials.

The variation landing page, which included search functionality, user testimonials, and related profiles, improved conversions by more than 46%. Once Kerstin realized there was a statistically significant winner, she used Optimizely’s traffic allocation feature to push 100% of site traffic to the winning variation while the engineering team built the changes into the site’s code.

Test 2 - Navigation Testing

After the success of Soulmate’s first test using the “people first” strategy, Kerstin decided to run a second test on the site’s navigation bar.

The original navigation bar displayed six default tabs. Because a site visitor’s “Top matches” do not change frequently, Kerstin hypothesized that visitors thought the site looked stale and lifeless. She wondered if changing “Top matches” to “Newly joined members” would garner more engagement and increase click-throughs to individual profiles.

The variation that replaced “Top matches” with “Newly joined members” increased conversions by 137%.

After running the test for just a few days, <em>Soulmates saw a staggering 137% increase in click-throughs from the “Newly joined members” variation.

Test 3 - Homepage Optimization

Additional user research around Kerstin’s “people first” hypothesis revealed that many site visitors craved more information on Soulmates’ homepage – which displayed photos and quirky taglines for several single men and women on the site.

Kerstin pitted the original homepage carousel against one that replaced the quirky taglines with the age and location of each featured user.

The original homepage carousel displayed photos and quirky taglines for several single men and women on the site. The variation homepage carousel replaced the quirky taglines with the age and location of each featured user.

The homepage test provided surprising insights. After running the test for just a few days, she found the primary conversion goal of site subscriptions actually decreased with the new variation. Additionally, the difference in profile click-throughs between the original page and the variation was so small that it never reached statistical significance.

Rather than archive this as a failed test, however, Kerstin found the learnings to be just as valuable as those from the two prior experiments. The negative and insignificant results helped her plan for future tests by honing in on new ways to increase conversions.

Takeaways

Agree on a Hypothesis and Goals Before the Test

Setting a hypothesis before building each test makes executing and interpreting experiment results much easier. According to Kerstin, agreeing on clear goals upfront helps remove the debate aspect when her team looks at test results and also influences ideas for future experiments.

Every Test is a Learning Opportunity

“Of the 14 tests we have run so far on Soulmates, seven have been successful, three have been negative, and four have been inconclusive, in that the differences did not generate big enough changes to reach statistical significance. To know what doesn’t work has been just as informative as to know what does work. A negative test is just a challenge to improve on what has failed and test it again,” says Kerstin.